If you have one of THESE diseases, you can now apply for official INSS retirement

Disability pension is one of the most common benefits provided by the National Institute of Social Security (INSS). According to the data of the institute, there are 2.8 million people in Brazil who are covered by this assistance.

An employee in this group can exercise the right when for some reason he is unable to perform his paid activities. Also known as permanent disability, entitlement to benefits does not require any specific illness. However, some predefined criteria must be met.

Retirement can be permanent or temporary

First of all, it should be noted that the benefit is intended for people who are unable to perform their work tasks. However, this requires proof through an INSS medical examination. Allowance can be permanent or temporary. The last case is when the employee is able to resume his activities normally.

Diseases recognized by INSS

According to the INSS, some diseases are evaluated by an average examination, which will assess the ability of the worker to return to work or not. Below you can see the list of diseases that are usually recognized by the INSS for providing benefits:

  • active tuberculosis;
  • leprosy;
  • severe mental disorder;
  • malignant neoplasm;
  • blindness;
  • irreversible and disabling paralysis;
  • severe heart disease;
  • Parkinson’s disease;
  • ankylosing spondylitis;
  • severe nephropathy;
  • advanced stage of Paget’s disease (osteitis deformans);
  • acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS);
  • radiation contamination, based on the conclusion of specialized medicine;
  • severe liver disease;
  • multiple sclerosis;

It is important to emphasize that the right to disability retirement does not depend on the function performed by the insured person. Therefore, a worker can be self-employed, CLT or even an employee, he will be entitled as long as he is a taxpayer.

List of diseases commonly recognized by INSS. Credit: Revelation

According to the INSS, a citizen must meet the following pre-defined criteria:

  • Inability to work;
  • Prove the disability with a medical examination conducted by the INSS.
  • Complete a grace period of at least 12 months (for INSS insured persons);
  • At the time of disability, working in the public service or contributing to social security or being insured during the INSS insured period.

How to apply for a benefit?

In order to receive a disability pension, as previously mentioned, proof is required through a medical examination by the INSS.

Therefore, some documents are required in this process. Are they?

  • Identification (CPF, RG, birth certificate, CNH);
  • Address proof;
  • Work and Social Security Card (CTPS);
  • Medical documents;
  • Active contribution to social security.

Medical examination

The INSS examination consists of an examination carried out by a medical expert to assess the individual’s state of health, as well as the diagnosis of possible diseases that affect their social and professional life. It must be carried out every 24 months and aims to prove the real need of each insured person.

Depression entitles you to a disability pension

Depression is also an illness that entitles the patient to a disability pension. However, the severity of the disease is taken into account.

Data from the Special Secretariat of Social Security and Labor show that in Brazil, in 2020, more than 576,000 people were absent from work due to mental disorders. The number is 26% more than in 2019. In 2021, according to INSS, more than 200 thousand people were fired due to inconvenience.

Did you like the text? Leave your comment at the bottom of the page.

See what success is on the Internet.

Related posts

Leave a Comment