Local Radio Freedom Act reintroduced in Congress by Senators Barrasso, Hassan

U.S. Sens. John Barrasso (R-Wyo.) and Maggie Hassan (DN.H.) led their colleagues Thursday in a bipartisan reinstatement. Local Radio Freedom Act.

The Local Radio Freedom Act is a bipartisan resolution that emphasizes the critical importance of locally owned radio stations to families, small businesses and our communities. It also declares that Congress should not impose any new performance fees, tax, license fees or other charges on local radio stations.

“People in Wyoming depend on local radio stations for up-to-the-minute information, news and programming that directly impacts their lives.” Senator Barrasso said. “For 100 years, radio stations and the recording industry have enjoyed a mutually beneficial relationship: free airtime for free promotion. If broadcasters are forced to pay performance fees, they will have to make cuts to important programs to survive. I am proud to join Senator Hassan in reintroducing our bipartisan legislation to block any new performance tax on broadcasters across the country.”

“Granite Staters regularly tune in to their local radio station to catch news from around the state, hear music and stories, and receive weather and emergency alerts,” Senator Hassan said. “I’m happy to stand with my colleagues on both sides of the aisle and support listeners and broadcasters. We will continue to work to ensure that our local radio stations can continue to provide vital information and entertainment to communities across our country.”

“American Broadcasters is grateful for the strong support for LRFA in Congress, and we thank Senators Hassan and Barrasso for leading the charge on this matter in the Senate,” said National Association of Broadcasters’ President and CEO Curtis LeGeyt. “A new performance fee crushing the work of local radio stations would damage the stations’ ability to provide free and essential services in communities across the country. We appreciate the more than 150 members of Congress who have already signed this critical resolution this year, standing with broadcast radio and our tens of millions of listeners.

Co-sponsors include U.S. Sens. John Boozman (R-Ark.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Shelley Moore Capito (RW.Va.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Kevin Cramer (RN.D.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Martin Heinrich (DN.M.), John Hoeven (RN.D.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Angus King (I-Maine ), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Jeanne Shaheen (DN.H.), Kyrsten Sinema (I-Ariz.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Roger Wicker (R – Miss.) and Todd Young (R-Ind.).

The full text of the resolution can be found here.

Related posts

Leave a Comment